the Villa


Since 2013, the association Pour l’instant has been endowed with a permanent base located in the town centre of Niort, the former home of writer Ernest Pérochon (Prix Goncourt 1920 for the novel Nêne), with an exhibition space of 260 m2 on two floors and just over 150 linear metres of hanging space. Villa Pérochon is a contemporary art centre with the official label of a site of national interest issued by the Ministry of Culture since 2019, and which is also in line with the requirements of the local authorities of the Town of Niort and the New Aquitaine Region.
After passing through a building that houses the reception and administration offices, access is via a path through a walled garden, which also serves as a true open-air gallery. This beautiful residence dating from the early 19th century, now called Villa Pérochon, Contemporary Photographic Art Centre is currently undergoing extensive renovation in order to develop the art centre’s activities. The art centre includes a technical resource centre, comprising a digital workshop and black-and-white film laboratory, a large collection of frames, a laminating unit, modular exhibition partitions, a nomadic gallery dedicated to public spaces, and a library of around 500 books.

The Villa Pérochon garden - © Didier Goudal.

The art centre has been built on the reputation of the association Pour l’Instant and the success of the Rencontres de la jeune photographie internationale with its creative residency. More than just a workshop or master-class, this unique residency provides artists with a true carte blanche to create and experiment, exchange with others and pursue artistic research.
Recognition among professional artistic circles, amateurs and contemporary art networks, in addition to the warm reception extended to all participants, is due to the spirit and key values that have always reigned throughout this event organised by the association Pour l’Instant: freedom, sharing, respect and discovery.
Today, more than ever, these values must be promoted for the emergence of the young art scene.

Throughout the year, the presence of artists, with a predominance of emerging artists, and the exhibition of their works, often previously unseen, along with cultural activities, training of artists, education in the image for all kinds of people, the involvement of the general public and economic and institutional bodies, all contribute to an ecosystem facilitating the exchanges necessary for reflection, experimentation and creation.
The most important underlying aspect in the notion of an emerging artist is not related to age but rather to the artistic approach, its relevance, its style, how it questions the photographic act, not only in its concept, but also in its form, technique and usage, including the attitude of the viewer, the latter being understood as one who may equally well be a reader, visitor, listener, spectator, or other form of audience.

the team: administrators / employees / members / volunteers

Administrative Board
Executive Board:
Olivier Nappey, President
Anne Rhodes, vice-President
Xavier Ribot, Secretary
Marie-Aude Daban, Assistant Secretary
Marie-France Pougnard, Treasurer
Thierry Olivier, Assistant Treasurer

Administrators
Émilie Gautier
Joël Girardin
Didier Goudal
Laurent Imhof
Yves Ménétrier
Jean-Charles Oudinet
Isabelle Verdeau

Honorary President
Sylviane Van de Moortele

Employed Staff
Patrick Delat, Director
Jean-Luc Fouet, Exhibition Assistant and Public Contact
Rachel Soullard, Receptionaist and Administrative Assistant

Close Support Team
Graphic Artist and Digital Print Specialist: Charlie Jouvet
Digital Print Specialist and Mounting: Philippe Le Besconte
Black-and-white Development and Print Specialist: Tao Douay
Translator and Interpreter: Paul Muse
Exhibition Assistant: Thierry Mathé

And… all the volunteers generously supporting us:
L’ensemble du conseil d’administration et Jean-Luc Giraud, Dominique Chatenet, Jean-Michel Monin, Jean-François Barré, Philippe Le Besconte, Christian Roupioz, Isabelle Demain, Claude Couliou, Anne et Jacques Tapin, Stéphane Bergé, Catherine Guetat, Sonia Courrillaud, Claude Le Breton, Isabelle Sonnier…

partners

Villa Pérochon is bound by an agreement with the French Ministry of Culture - DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine, la Ville de Niort and the Conseil régional Nouvelle-Aquitaine. It also receives support from the Conseil départemental des Deux-Sèvres.

Actions are carried out in association with numerous partners.

Educational and social partners:
DSDEN, Directorate of Departmental Services of National Education
DAAC, Academic Delegation for Cultural Action
CANOPE, Network for Creation and Pedagogical Accompaniment
ARS, Regional Health Agency
SPIP 79, Penitentiary, Rehabilitation and Probation Service of Deux-Sèvres
ACS  Town Centre Sociocultural Centre
Hospital of Niort

Cultural Partners:
The Camji contemporary music centre, Le Moulin du Roc-Scène nationale theatre, Com’ à la maison, Atelier Clelia Alric, le Carré Amelot and the Centre Intermondes of La Rochelle, la Fondation des Treilles, Résidence 1+2 in Toulouse.

Private Partners:
Inter Mutuelles Assistance, Territoria-Mutuelle, Chez Slo’, Librairie des Halles, l’Atelier du cadre, Niort – Marais poitevin, Imprimerie Nouvelle, Avis Car Rentals, Le Chai Saint-Hilaire.

Media Partners:
La Nouvelle République du Centre-Ouest
Vivre à Niort
Catherine Philippot-RELATIONS-MEDIA

La Villa Pérochon is one of the founding members of the national network Diagonal, including around twenty photographic structures in France. It is also a member of the Astre network of visual arts in Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

[top of page]

la Villa


L’association Pour l’instant est dotée, depuis 2013, d’un lieu permanent situé en centre-ville de Niort, la maison de l’écrivain Ernest Pérochon (Prix Goncourt 1920 pour le roman Nêne), avec un espace d’exposition de 260 m2 sur deux étages et un peu plus de 150 mètres linéaires d’accrochage. La Villa Pérochon est un centre d’art contemporain labellisé d’intérêt national par le ministère de la Culture depuis 2019 qui répond également aux attentes des collectivités territoriales que sont la ville de Niort et la région Nouvelle-Aquitaine.
L’accès, après un passage par le bâtiment destiné à l’accueil et l’administration, se fait par un cheminement dans un jardin clos de murs, véritable galerie à ciel ouvert. Cette belle demeure du début du XIXe siècle, dénommée aujourd’hui Villa Pérochon - Centre d’art contemporain photographique fait actuellement l’objet d’une réhabilitation de l’ensemble du bâtiment afin d’y développer les activités du centre d’art. Le centre d’art intègre un pôle ressource technique qui comprend : un atelier numérique et un argentique noir blanc, un fonds de cadres, une unité de contre-collage, des cloisons d’exposition mobiles, une galerie nomade dédiée à l’espace public… et une bibliothèque de 500 ouvrages.

Le jardin de la Villa Pérochon - © Didier Goudal.

Le centre d’art s’est construit sur la réputation de l’association Pour l’Instant et le succès des Rencontres de la jeune photographie internationale avec sa résidence de création. Ni workshop, ni master-class cette résidence singulière est une véritable carte blanche, un lieu d’expérimentation, de confrontation et de recherche artistique.
La reconnaissance de Pour l’Instant par les milieux artistiques professionnels, amateurs et les réseaux de l’art contemporain, outre la qualité de l’accueil proposé, est due à l’esprit et aux valeurs régnant lors des Rencontres de la jeune photographie internationale : la liberté, le partage, le respect et la découverte.
Aujourd’hui, plus que jamais, ces valeurs doivent être promues pour l’émergence de la jeune scène artistique.

Tout au long de l’année la présence des artistes, avec une prédominance d’artistes émergents, la diffusion d’expositions dont des créations inédites, l’action culturelle, la formation des artistes, l’éducation à l’image pour un large public, l’implication des citoyens et des milieux économiques ainsi qu’institutionnels, tous ces composants constituent un écosystème facilitant les échanges nécessaires à la réflexion, l’expérimentation et la création.
L’idée qui prévaut dans la notion d’émergence n’est pas celle de l’âge de l’artiste mais celle de la démarche artistique, de sa pertinence, de son écriture, de celle qui questionne l’acte photographique, à la fois dans son concept, dans sa forme, dans sa technique et son utilisation jusqu’à la posture du regardeur. Regardeur s’entend aussi bien pour un lecteur, un visiteur, un auditeur, un spectateur… un téléspectateur…

l'équipe : administrateurs / salariés / adhérents / bénevoles

Le conseil d’administration 
Le bureau :
Olivier Nappey, président
Anne Rhodes, vice-présidente
Xavier Ribot, secrétaire
Marie-Aude Daban, secrétaire adjointe
Marie-France Pougnard, trésorière
Thierry Olivier, trésorier adjoint

Administrateurs :
Émilie Gautier
Joël Girardin
Didier Goudal
Laurent Imhof
Yves Ménétrier
Jean-Charles Oudinet
Isabelle Verdeau

Présidente d’honneur
Sylviane Van de Moortele

L’équipe de salarié(e)s
Patrick Delat, directeur
Jean-Luc Fouet, coordinateur, médiateur et chargé des publics
Rachel Soullard, accueil et administration

Engagés à nos côtés
Graphiste et tireur numérique : Charlie Jouvet
Tireur numérique et contre-collage : Philippe Le Besconte
Tireur argentique noir et blanc : Tao Douay
Traducteur et interprète : Paul Muse
Médiateur : Thierry Mathé

Et… tous les bénévoles engagés auprès de nous :
L’ensemble du conseil d’administration et Jean-Luc Giraud, Dominique Chatenet, Jean-Michel Monin, Jean-François Barré, Philippe Le Besconte, Christian Roupioz, Isabelle Demain, Claude Couliou, Anne et Jacques Tapin, Stéphane Bergé, Catherine Guetat, Sonia Courrillaud, Claude Le Breton, Isabelle Sonnier…

les partenaires

La Villa Pérochon est conventionnée avec le ministère de la Culture - DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine, la Ville de Niort et le Conseil régional Nouvelle-Aquitaine. Elle reçoit également le soutien du Conseil départemental des Deux-Sèvres.

Ses actions associent de nombreux partenaires.

Partenaires éducatifs et sociaux :
DSDEN, Direction des Services Départementaux de l’Éducation Nationale
DAAC, Délégation Académique à l’Action Culturelle
CANOPE, réseau de création et d’accompagnement pédagogique
ARS, Agence Régionale de Santé
SPIP 79, Service Pénitentiaire d’Insertion et de Probation des Deux-Sèvres
ACS  Centre-Ville – Centre socioculturel
Hôpital de Niort

Partenaires culturels :
Le Camji-Scène de musiques actuelles, Le Moulin du Roc-Scène nationale, Com’ à la maison, Atelier Clelia Alric, le Carré Amelot et le Centre Intermondes de La Rochelle, la Fondation des Treilles, Résidence 1+2 à Toulouse.

Partenaires privés :
Inter Mutuelles Assistance, Territoria-Mutuelle, Chez Slo’, Librairie des Halles, l’Atelier du cadre, Niort – Marais poitevin, Imprimerie Nouvelle, Avis Location de véhicules, Le Chai Saint-Hilaire.

Partenaires média :
La Nouvelle République du Centre-Ouest
Vivre à Niort
Catherine Philippot-RELATIONS-MEDIA

La Villa Pérochon fait partie des membres fondateurs du réseau national Diagonal qui regroupe une vingtaine de structures photographiques en France. Elle est membre d’Astre réseau arts plastiques et visuels en Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

[haut de page]